The Daughters of the Republic of Texas Library
   History Links 
   Genealogy Links 
   Elaine B. Davis
   June Franklin Naylor
   Virginia M. Law
   Contact Us 
   General Inquiries
   DRT Membership
   Rights & Reproductions

Hours of Operation


P.O. Box 1401
San Antonio, TX 78295

Phone Unavailable

For inquiries, please email

June Franklin Naylor Award

Our Book and Research Awards are temporarily on hiatus for this year. Any current submissions will be carried over to be awarded next year. Thank you for your understanding!

The June Franklin Naylor Award for the Best Book for Children on Texas History, endowed by the family of June Franklin Naylor and sponsored by the Daughters of the Republic of Texas Library, is given annually to the author/illustrator of the most distinguished book for children and young adults, grades K-12, that accurately portrays the history of Texas, whether fiction or nonfiction. A former schoolteacher and long-time resident of Odessa, Mrs. Naylor served as President General of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas, Inc., from 1989 to 1991.

The deadline for submissions is December 31, 2014.

2014 June Franklin Naylor Award Guidelines

June Franklin Naylor Award Recipients

The June Franklin Naylor Award has been awarded for 2013! Congratulations to to co-authors David A. Adler and Michael S. Adler, and to illustrator Matt Collins for their book A Picture Book of Sam Houston, published in 2012 by Holiday House of New York.


Copyright © 1996 - 2017 Daughters of the Republic of Texas Library
Users are reminded that images on this site belong to the DRT Library. Copying or redistribution is prohibited
without written consent of the DRT Library, subject to the library's Photograph Reproduction Policies.
For more information contact